Who We Are

About Us

The Organisation of Pharmaceutical Producers of India (OPPI) was established in 1965 and represents the research-based pharmaceutical companies in India. OPPI remains committed to supporting the nation’s healthcare objectives and collaborating with all stakeholders to find sustainable solutions. OPPI believes the need for innovation must be balanced with the necessity for more accessible medicines, within a robust IP environment. A holistic approach is needed to expand healthcare in India and OPPI believes the pharmaceutical industry can form part of the solution. OPPI's stringent Code of Pharmaceuticals Practices binds all our member companies.

To understand and download the Code of Conduct on Pharmaceutical practices       Click here


OPPI is an organisation of research and innovation driven pharmaceutical companies committed to addressing India's healthcare needs by:

  • Facilitating greater access to quality healthcare solutions
  • Encouraging research and innovation
  • Disseminating knowledge and sharing best practices
  • Contributing meaningfully in policy dialogues




Senior Director – Government Affairs


Director - Communications


Director - Research


Director Finance & Administration and Association Secretary


OPPI member companies invest in the research of new medicines. They are pioneers in innovation, ushering in a new era of treatment for patients. Over the decades, OPPI member companies have laid a strong foundation for the development of a world class and robust pharmaceutical industry in the country.
If your company is interested in joining OPPI. Click here

To know more about OPPI Members Click here

Past Presidents

Name Company Year
Dr. Shailesh AyyangarSanofi2013 - 2017
Ranjit ShahaniNovartis2009 - 2013
Ranga IyerWyeth2007 - 2009
Ranjit ShahaniNovartis2001 - 2007
Tapan RayAbbottSept. - Nov. 2001
Late Mr P. GuptaInfar2000 - 2001
H.R. KhusrokhanGlaxo1998 - 2000
D. BhaduryHoechst Marion Roussel1996 - 1998
Dr Anil S. MehtaWyeth1994 - 1996
H. DhanrajgirGlaxo1992 - 1994
D.K. BoseBurroughs Wellcome1990 - 1992
Dr S. AgarwalaRallis1988 - 1990
C.M. HattangdiParke - Davis1986 - 1987
R.N. LangranaAbbott1985
Late Mr George DanielHoechst1982 - 1984
Late Dr S.K. BhattacharyaSandoz1980 - 1981
Late Mr H.N. Dutt GuptaEast India Pharmaceutical Works1979
Late Mr Sisir MitraCyanamid1976 - 1978
S.V. PillaiPfizer1974 - 1975
Late Brig. B. S. BhagatRallis1970 - 1973
Keith C. RoyMerck Sharp Dohme1967 - 1969
Late Dr H.R. NanjiPharmed1966