Who We Are

About Us

The Organisation of Pharmaceutical Producers of India (OPPI) was established in 1965 and represents the research-based pharmaceutical companies in India. OPPI remains committed to supporting the nation’s healthcare objectives and collaborating with all stakeholders to find sustainable solutions. OPPI believes the need for innovation must be balanced with the necessity for more accessible medicines, within a robust IP environment. A holistic approach is needed to expand healthcare in India and OPPI believes the pharmaceutical industry can form part of the solution.

OPPI’s stringent Code of Pharmaceuticals Practices binds all our member companies. OPPI has constituted an Ethics & Business Integrity Work Group. Rehan A. Khan, Managing Director, MSD Pharmaceuticals India Private Limited and Serina Fischer, General Manager, Takeda Pharmaceuticals India Pvt Ltd are  the Chairs of this Work Group for 2022.

To understand and download the OPPI Code of Pharmaceutical Practices 2019       Click here

For Filing Complaints under the OPPI Code of Pharmaceutical Practices 2019 and to view the list of ECPMP & AECPMP committee members       Click here

Proforma for furnishing quarterly return on complaints received and action thereafter by industries Association as per para (8) of UCPMP code       Click here

To know more and understand the UCPMP       Click here

To know more and understand the IFPMA Code of Practice 2019       Click here


OPPI is an organisation of research and innovation driven pharmaceutical companies committed to addressing India’s healthcare needs by:

  • Facilitating greater access to quality healthcare solutions
  • Encouraging research and innovation
  • Disseminating knowledge and sharing best practices
  • Contributing meaningfully in policy dialogues


Building a healthier India through access to Innovation




Director- Research


Director Finance & Administration And Association Secretary


Director, Communications & Patient Advocacy


OPPI member companies invest in the research of new medicines. They are pioneers in innovation, ushering in a new era of treatment for patients. Over the decades, OPPI member companies have laid a strong foundation for the development of a world class and robust pharmaceutical industry in the country.

If your company is interested in joining OPPI.Click here

To know more about OPPI Members Click here

Past Presidents

Name Company Year
S Sridhar Pfizer 2021-2022
Sharad Tyagi Boehringer Ingelheim 2020- 2021
A. Vaidheesh GlaxoSmithKline 2017 - 2020
Dr. Shailesh Ayyangar Sanofi 2013 - 2017
Ranjit Shahani Novartis 2009 - 2013
Ranga Iyer Wyeth 2007 - 2009
Ranjit Shahani Novartis 2001 - 2007
Tapan Ray Abbott Sept. - Nov. 2001
Late Mr P. Gupta Infar 2000 - 2001
H.R. Khusrokhan Glaxo 1998 - 2000
D. Bhadury Hoechst Marion Roussel 1996 - 1998
Dr Anil S. Mehta Wyeth 1994 - 1996
H. Dhanrajgir Glaxo 1992 - 1994
D.K. Bose Burroughs Wellcome 1990 - 1992
Dr S. Agarwala Rallis 1988 - 1990
C.M. Hattangdi Parke - Davis 1986 - 1987
R.N. Langrana Abbott 1985
Late Mr George Daniel Hoechst 1982 - 1984
Late Dr S.K. Bhattacharya Sandoz 1980 - 1981
Late Mr H.N. Dutt Gupta East India Pharmaceutical Works 1979
Late Mr Sisir Mitra Cyanamid 1976 - 1978
S.V. Pillai Pfizer 1974 - 1975
Late Brig. B. S. Bhagat Rallis 1970 - 1973
Keith C. Roy Merck Sharp Dohme 1967 - 1969
Late Dr H.R. Nanji Pharmed 1966